Polk County Arrest, Court, and Public Records | StateRecords.org (2024)

What are Polk County Arrest Records?

Polk County arrest records refer to reports that provide information on individuals arrested by law enforcement to break the land laws. The Polk County Sheriff’s Office keeps records of all arrests that occur within the county and makes the records available online. Such documents may include details such as:

  • Name of the arrestee
  • Age
  • City
  • Date and time of the arrest.
  • Charges brought against the arrestee

Crime Statistics

Every year, the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) collates crime statistics from around the country. The Bureau makes those statistics available in its annual crime report, which is published on its website. In its 2016 report, the FBI stated that Polk County recorded 99 violent crimes and 233 property crimes throughout the year. Reports of violent crimes were broken into seven cases of rape and 92 cases of aggravated assault. Among the property crimes, 53 were cases of burglaries, while 161 were cases of petty theft. There were also 19 cases of motor vehicle theft, and one case of arson.

What are Polk County Criminal Records?

Polk County criminal records are documents that contain the details of an individual’s criminal past. In Polk County, criminal records are created by the Sheriff’s Office. Criminal records will typically provide arrest information, details on court proceedings, and rulings, and sentences. Within Wisconsin as a state, however, the Department of Justice maintains criminal records.

How Do I Get Polk County Criminal Records?

Eligible residents of Polk County can retrieve criminal records from the website of the Wisconsin Crime Information Bureau. The Bureau maintains a database of arrests and criminal records within the state from 1971 till the present day. Parties may visit the Bureau’s online database and create an account to search for records. The fee for performing a search is $7 for a general search or $10 for a background search. Some documents cannot be accessed online and must be requested by mail or fax for a fee. The fee for mail or fax requests is $12. Mail and fax requests can be sent to:

Crime Information Bureau
Criminal History Unit
P.O. Box 2688
Madison, WI 53701-2688
Phone: (608) 266-7314
Fax: (608) 267-4558

How To Find Polk County Sex Offender Information

The Wisconsin Department of Corrections stores information on all sex offenders in the state and makes it available online. Interested parties can locate sex offenders in Polk County by name, or by a geographical search. Residents are also able to sign up for community notifications. By signing up, interested parties can get notified when a new sex offender moves into the neighborhood.

How do I Visit an Inmate in Polk County Jail?

The Polk County Jail was opened in 2003 and contained 160-bed spaces. The facility is used to house both pre-sentenced and sentenced inmates. The county jail provides inmates with video visitation privileges. Prospective visitors have to go to the official prison visitation porta tot register and be approved to schedule a visit.

Video visitation hours are as follows:

  • Seven days a week from 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m.

The fees for video visitations are as follows:

  • 20-minute visit - $12.99
  • 40-minute visit - $25.98

Family members or clergy may visit in-person, under exigent situations such as a family bereavement. The Jail Sergeants must approve visits of this nature. All on-site visitors are expected to carry a form of government-issued ID along. Parents or legal guardians must escort visitors who are minors. All visitors must dress in non-transparent clothing that covers the body from shoulders to mid-thighs. The Polk County Jail is located at:

455 N Broadway Ave
Bartow, FL 33830

Where And How To Find Polk County Inmate Information

The Polk County Jail maintains an inmate roster, which it makes available online. Interested parties can download the list and search through it to find a particular inmate. The list contains the following information on inmates:

  • Full name
  • Age
  • I.D. number
  • Booking date/time
  • Charges

Interested parties, who are unable to find records on the Polk County inmate roster, can also check the Wisconsin Department of Corrections Offender Locator page. Visitors to the page can find information for inmates in prisons across the country, including Polk County Jail.

What are Polk County Court Records?

Polk County court records refer to documents that contain information on the court proceedings and judgment against or in favor of a particular individual. The Polk County Clerk of Circuit Courts is responsible for maintaining court records and making the records available to interested parties. Interested persons may query the office located at:

Polk County Justice Center
1005 West Main Street, Suite 300, Balsam Lake, WI 54810
Phone: (715) 485-9299
Fax: (715) 485-9262

Location of all Courts in Polk County

Polk County Circuit Court
Polk County Justice Center
1005 West Main Street, Suite 300, Balsam Lake, WI 54810
Phone: (715) 485-9299
Fax: (715) 485-9262

City of Amery Municipal Court
118 Center Street, Amery, WI 54001
Phone: (715) 268-6567
Fax: (715) 268-4870

City of St. Croix Falls Municipal Court
710 Highway 35 South, St. Croix Falls, WI 54024
Phone: (715) 483-1533
Fax: (715) 483-1436

Village of Osceola Municipal Court
310 Chieftain Street, P.O. Box 217, Osceola, WI 54020
Phone: (715) 294-2090
Fax: (715) 294-2210

What are Polk County Vital Records?

Polk County’s vital records are documents that are stored and indexed by the Polk County Register of Deeds. These documents provide details about important events that have occured within the county - including births, deaths, marriages, and divorces. Eligible parties can request vital records by filling out a request form and returning it in-person or via mail. The only parties eligible to request vital records are the individual(s) mentioned in the documents, family members, and legal counsel.

The Polk County Register of Deeds can be located at:

Polk County Government Center
100 Polk County Plaza
Suite 160
Balsam Lake, WI 54810
Phone: (715) 485-9240

Where And How To Get Polk County Divorce Records

Interested parties can get copies of divorce records from the Polk County Register of Deeds. Requesters must fill out a divorce record application form and return it in person or by mail. Each record costs $2 to copy the first page and $1 per extra page. If a certified copy is required, an additional $1 fee will apply. The Deeds Office can only provide copies of divorces that have happened between June 21, 2015, to date. Parties interested in divorce records that were created before that time must make requests from the Polk County Clerk of Court.

Where And How To Get Polk County Marriage Records

To get a copy of a marriage record in Polk County, interested parties must fill out a marriage certificate application form and return it to the Polk County Register of Deeds. The form can be returned in person or via mail. The first page of a marriage record costs $2 to copy, while subsequent pages cost $1 to copy. Interested parties can obtain certified copies of marriage records for an added $1 fee.

Where And How To Get Polk County Birth Records

Eligible parties request copies of birth records from the Polk County Register of Deeds. Only the individual mentioned in the document and the individual’s family members are considered eligible to ask for birth records. Requestors must fill the birth certificate application form and return it to the register of deeds in-person or by mail. Copies of birth records cost $2 for the first page and an extra $1 for additional pages. Certified copies of birth certificates cost another $1.

Where And How To Get Polk County Death Records

The Polk County Register of Deeds stores all death records within the county and is responsible for making the records available. Requestors must fill the death certificate application form, return it in person, or mail to the Register of Deeds. The fee for producing copies is $2 for the first page and $1 for additional pages.

Polk County Arrest, Court, and Public Records | StateRecords.org (2024)


How do I find arrest records in Polk County Florida? ›

For statewide criminal history information, please visit the Florida Department of Law Enforcement website or call (850) 410-8161 during normal business hours. **PLEASE NOTE** When doing a search for a last name with an apostrophe in it, such as O'Keefe, you must put two apostrophes in the name - like this: O''Keefe.

How do I look up a Florida arrest record? ›

People who want to know if someone has a criminal record, they can visit the State of Florida Criminal History Information which is a site run by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE). Then click on the words “Florida Criminal History Record Check.”

How do I get a copy of a police report in Polk County FL? ›

Public Records Requests

Once the form is filled out simply send it to the Polk County Sheriff's Office Records Management Bureau by email: recordsrequest@polksheriff.org; in person at 1891 Jim Keene Blvd, Winter Haven, FL, 33880, or at any PCSO substation. Records can be reached at 863-298-6300.

How do I get a police report online in Polk County Florida? ›

The Polk County Sheriff's Office offers online report requests to individuals and companies. To initiate a Public Records Request, please contact Records for the necessary forms. Once the forms are filled out simply send them to the Polk County Sheriff's Office Records Management Bureau.

Are arrest reports public record in Florida? ›

Police crime and arrest reports are public records subject to public inspection as provided in s. 119.07(1), F. S., and the custodian of public records must supply copies of any public record under his control upon payment of fees as set out in the Public Records Law.

How long are arrest records kept in Florida? ›

How Long Do Criminal Records in Florida Last For? Criminal records begin the moment a person is arrested for a crime. They effectively last for the rest of your life. However, the information recorded may be able to be removed or made inaccessible through expungement or sealing.

Does Florida have free public records? ›

Florida's public records are available online, except for state law exemptions. According to the state's public records act, anyone can request a record online or by visiting the office of the agency body that holds the specific record.

Where can I view local mugshots for free? ›

Check your local sheriff and police department websites.

Some law enforcement agencies host mugshots online, which you can view for free. Not many do, however, so this shouldn't be your first place to check. You'll need to know the county where the person was booked.

What is the best website for mugshots? ›

The Best Mugshot Websites To Check Out Your Criminal Side
  1. Mugshots.com. Mugshots.com is probably the most popular mugshot website on the planet. ...
  2. BustedMugshots.com.
  3. Arrests.org.
  4. JailBase.com. ...
  5. Local Police Department Websites.
Jun 9, 2023

Do you need a police report in Florida? ›

Simply put, you can file a personal injury claim in Florida without a police report, but you should expect it to be far more challenging to prove your case. If there isn't a police report of the car accident, the at-fault driver could deny knowing anything about the collision.

Can you file a police report online in Florida? ›

The online citizen police report system allows you to submit a report immediately and print a copy of the police report for free. You can use this report to file with your insurance company.

What county is Davenport FL in? ›

Davenport Fl is located in Polk County just Southwest of Orlando Fl.

Is it illegal to record a police officer in Florida? ›

38 states allow citizens to record police. 12 states, including Florida, require the consent of all parties being recorded. Florida courts ruled that “parties” does not include on-duty police. In other words, it is legal in Florida, and most states, to openly record on-duty police.

Can you anonymously report someone to the police in Florida? ›

How Does Crimeline Work? Central Florida CrimeLine follows the best practices set out by the Florida Association of Crime Stoppers and Crime Stoppers USA. Crimeline is available at 800-423-TIPS (8477) 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, taking completely anonymous tips on any criminal activity.

Can you record a police officer in the state of Florida? ›

So, when can you record the police? Anytime you are in an open public space (for example, most public roads, public parks, and public beaches) where other individuals can witness what is happening, you can record the police as long as you are not interfering with police activity.

Are local arrests public record? ›

Criminal History Records are not subject to disclosure under the Public Records Act. In California, state and local summary criminal history information is confidential and access is strictly regulated by statute.

Who can request public records in Florida? ›

Every citizen has been granted the Constitutional right to inspect or copy any public record with some exemptions in Florida, and the Sunshine Law provides a right of access to government proceedings at both the state and local levels.

What is considered public record in Florida? ›

Section 119.011(12), F.S., defines "public records" to include: all documents, papers, letters, maps, books, tapes, photographs, films, sound recordings, data processing software, or other material, regardless of the physical form, characteristics, or means of transmission, made or received pursuant to law or ordinance ...

Do arrests without conviction show up on background check Florida? ›

The FCRA has rules for how far back pre-employment background checks can go in Florida and elsewhere. Under this law, CRAs are forbidden from reporting arrest records that did not result in a conviction to be used for hiring decisions that are more than seven years old.

Do arrest warrants expire in Florida? ›

Many people have the belief that arrest warrants expire. However, this is false. Arrest warrants can be issued in Florida for both felonies and misdemeanors and will remain active until the warrant is served or a judge withdraws it.

Can you expunge an arrest record in Florida? ›

Florida law allows you to expunge one criminal record from your history. A criminal record is a record of any incident where a person was arrested and fingerprinted, regardless of the eventual outcome of the case. You can only expunge a misdemeanor conviction or an arrest record that did not lead to a conviction.

What is exempt from Florida public records? ›

Records exempt from public records disclosure include: Lists of retirees' names or addresses. Social Security numbers of current and former members. Birth certificates and cause of death on death certificates.

How do I find public court Records in Florida? ›

You can access all public dockets and available case documents using the new Appellate Case Information System (ACIS) at https://acis.flcourts.gov.

Are mugshots public record in Florida? ›

Arrest records which include mugshots are public documents and form part of the arrest history of an arrestee. Arrest history information in the state of Florida is collated by the Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).

What app shows local arrests? ›

MobilePatrol connects you to important safety information, news, and critical alerts for places you care about. We partner with public safety and law enforcement agencies nationwide so you can receive timely access to information that keeps you and your loved ones safe.

What website shows local arrests? ›

JailBase provides arrest information to the public. Browse recent arrests, use our jail inmate search or view county mugshots all in one place. You can search for arrested persons you might know, and even get notified if someone you know gets arrested.

Will Google remove mugshots? ›

Contact Google or other Search Engines

In other words, you can't remove mugshots from Google just because they are embarrassing. You must be able to demonstrate that the presence of mugshots or other embarrassing records violates one or more of Google's terms of service.

Are mugshots good for you? ›

Mug Shot snack meals are a great tasting and healthy choice. Speedy sachets and pots can either be enjoyed alongside your lunch or as a stand-alone meal or snack, to fill you up in nutritious and delicious style. All the products are both low in calories and fat and contain no artificial colours or preservatives.

Are mugshots royalty free? ›

All works made by federal agencies are automatically in the public domain, so if the mugshot was made by a federal agency like the FBI, it is certainly in the public domain.

Is Florida a no-fault state? ›

Florida is one of the few states in the United States that operates under a no-fault auto insurance system. This means that drivers are required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, which covers medical expenses and lost wages regardless of who is at fault for an accident.

Do you have to show ID when asked by police in Florida? ›

Stat. §856.021(2). Because of these statutes, a person might be required to identify themselves when requested by a law enforcement officer, but only if that officer reasonably suspects that a crime has been committed, is being committed, or is about to be committed.

Is it illegal to run from the police in Florida? ›

The State of Florida has deemed it a third-degree felony to flee from or elude a police officer, which means that a person charged with the crime could be punished by up to 5 years in Florida State prison, as well as license suspension, vehicle forfeiture, and an adjudication of guilt.

Is it a crime to not report a crime in Florida? ›

Failure to report is usually a misdemeanor, but it can be a felony.

Who investigates police misconduct in Florida? ›

When complaints are made against law enforcement officers for alleged misconduct, the Inspector General (IG) investigators are required to comply with the Law Enforcement Bill of Rights (F.S. 112.532-112.534), the Firefighter Bill of Rights (F.S. 112.82-112.84), and, in some cases, the Police Benevolent Association ...

What happens if you file a false police report in Florida? ›

Filing a false police report in Florida is classified as a misdemeanor under Florida's criminal statute. The criminal penalties associated with the charge include: Up to one year in jail. Fines of up to $ 1,000.

Why is Davenport FL popular? ›

What Is Davenport Known For? Davenport is a city in Polk County, just outside Orlando, Florida. The city is known for its close proximity to the Walt Disney World theme parks, making it one of the most popular places to stay for individuals, families and friends.

Is Davenport a nice place to live? ›

The city of Davenport features many neighborhoods and communities that cater to all ages, and the convenience of schools, hospitals, and attractions makes Davenport a great place to call home.

Why move to Davenport FL? ›

Housing Affordability

One of the main reasons to relocate to Davenport is the affordable housing prices. The town has a range of housing options, from single-family homes and townhouses to apartments and condos, and the prices are generally lower than in nearby areas like Orlando.

Can someone record you in Florida without your consent? ›

All parties to any confidential communication must give permission to be recorded, according to Florida's eavesdropping law. Fla. Stat. § 934.03(2)(d).

Do passengers have to show ID in Florida? ›

As a passenger in a vehicle, if the police do not have reasonable suspicion to believe that you have committed a crime, it is legal to refuse to show identification.

What do you say to the police when recording? ›

DON'T give them any information except for your name and basic identifying information. DON'T give explanations, excuses, or stories. Say “I want to remain silent” and “I want to talk to a lawyer.” DON'T talk about your case on the phone.

What is the Crime Stoppers reward in Florida? ›

Tipsters are eligible for a cash reward of up to $3,000 if their tip leads to an arrest. Does Crime Stoppers Work? The answer is quite simply YES!

How do I report illegal activity in Florida? ›

Report Incident to Local Law Enforcement. Call “If You See Something, Say Something TM” at 1-855-FLA-SAFE.

How do I report someone in Florida? ›

Report abuse, neglect or exploitation

To report by phone – call Florida Abuse Hotline at 1-800-96-ABUSE (1-800-962-2873). Press 2 to report suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation of a vulnerable adult. This toll free number is available 24/7.

Can you show a picture of your license to a police officer in Florida? ›

Summary. To conclude, traffic police won't accept a picture as proof of a valid driver's license, so remember to always carry the corresponding documents when driving a vehicle.

What states can you not record police? ›

Two of those states, Massachusetts and Illinois have a provision called an “expectation of privacy.” This means these laws do not apply to recording on-duty police. In the rest of the 48 states, it is legal to openly film police who are on-duty.

Can I film in public in Florida? ›

In Florida, as stated by §934.0. 3, it is illegal to record someone without their consent and knowledge, especially when there is an expectation of total privacy in places of work, banks, restaurants, retail stores, and others.

Does Florida have a docket search? ›

For up-to-date case docket entries and registration information, visit https://acis.flcourts.gov. If you know the case number, just enter it below. If not, please use one of the other search options: party or attorney, lower tribunal case number, or date filed.

How do I find out if someone is in jail in Florida? ›

Inmate Release Information Search

The Department of Corrections ensures the Criminal Justice System can access the information of these persons, including incarceration data and photographs. Interested parties can contact the Bureau of Admission and Release at (850) 488-9167 for further inquiries.

Are juvenile arrest records public in Florida? ›

All records, except those regarding youth, in the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice or its agents, employees, or contractors are public records, unless otherwise exempt, pursuant to Chapter 119, Florida Statutes.

How do you look up local court cases? ›

There are three ways to look at court records:
  1. Go to the courthouse and ask to look at paper records.
  2. Go to the courthouse and look at electronic court records.
  3. If your court offers it, look at electronic records over the internet. This is called “remote access.”

Where can I find criminal records in Florida? ›

Contact Information
Telephone:(850) 410-7676
Fax:(850) 410-7699
In Person:Florida Department of Law Enforcement 2331 Phillips Road Tallahassee, FL 32308 Office Hours: Monday- Friday 8 AM – 5 PM (excluding state observed holidays)
2 more rows

How can I find out if my boyfriend is in jail? ›

Call the county jail or clerk of courts office.

There might be a special phone number or extension to use for inmate inquiries, but even if you do not know that number and cannot track it down, simply calling non-emergency county law enforcement can be helpful.

Are Florida mugshots public record? ›

Arrest records which include mugshots are public documents and form part of the arrest history of an arrestee. Arrest history information in the state of Florida is collated by the Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division of the Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE).

Do juvenile records go away in Florida? ›

An individual's juvenile criminal history record is automatically expunged or destroyed by FDLE when that person turns 24 years old (with some exceptions). Florida statutes allow for the criminal records to be expunged for some youth who have successfully completed a pre-arrest or post-arrest diversion program.

Are child custody cases public record in Florida? ›

In Florida, all divorce cases are public records. Florida has a broad public records law. In fact, the majority of domestic relation cases are public records including paternity cases and child support cases. The major exception to the public records law in Florida is adoption cases.


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Cheryll Lueilwitz

Last Updated:

Views: 6147

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (54 voted)

Reviews: 93% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Cheryll Lueilwitz

Birthday: 1997-12-23

Address: 4653 O'Kon Hill, Lake Juanstad, AR 65469

Phone: +494124489301

Job: Marketing Representative

Hobby: Reading, Ice skating, Foraging, BASE jumping, Hiking, Skateboarding, Kayaking

Introduction: My name is Cheryll Lueilwitz, I am a sparkling, clean, super, lucky, joyous, outstanding, lucky person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.